DIY World Map Ipad Case

 world map ipad case tutorial little button diaries craft

 A few years ago, back when I had a life before I had kids, I did a big long adventure across the world with my friend. She asked me a while ago if I could make her a little stitched route map of our trip, so I thought I’d do one and turn it into an ipad case. I loved how easy it was (I know I always say that. But it was really easy – and really speedy too!). Here’s what I did.

You will need:

  • 50 x 21 cm printed map fabric
  • 50 x 21 cm lining fabric
  • 50 x 21 cm thick fusible interfacing
  • 10 cm ricrac/elastic
  • Button

1. If you are marking on a route, sketch out your journey in air erasable ink first, then stitch over either by machine or hand.

diy ipad case little button diaries 1

2.  Cut your fabric to size (the measurements above allow for a 1cm seam allowance). Fuse the interfacing onto the reverse of the map fabric.

diy ipad case little button diaries 3 diy ipad case little button diaries 5

3. Pin the map and lining fabric rights sides together. Sew one end of the fabric together with a 1cm seam allowance.

diy ipad case little button diaries 6

4. Now make the ricrac/elastic into a loop and pin it at the other end of the fabric rectangle, facing in. Put the fabric RST again to sandwich the loop then sew the fabric together along the narrow end, as before.

diy ipad case little button diaries 16 diy ipad case little button diaries 17

5. Open up the seams and Press then flat to create a large loop of fabric.

diy ipad case little button diaries 18

6. With the fabric inside out, open it up and lay it flat so that one side is map fabric, one side is lining, and the sewn seams are in the centre. Press flat, then pin all the way along the raw edges of the fabric – leaving a 10cm gap along one edge of the lining fabric (for turning). Sew along the edges with a 1cm allowance.

diy ipad case little button diaries 8

7. Turn the right way out. take the lining fabric and fold the raw edges of the 10cm gap in. Press, pin and slip stitch to seal the gap.

diy ipad case little button diaries 9 diy ipad case little button diaries 11

8. Insert the lining and press the whole thing flat. Mark out where the loop folds to and sew a button in place here.

diy ipad case little button diaries 12 diy ipad case little button diaries 13

diy ipad case little button diaries 20

See, that WAS easy and quick wasn’t it? Let’s make lots!

Tia x

diy ipad case little button diaries 22

 

6 thoughts on “DIY World Map Ipad Case

  1. So cute! Whenever I go on big trips with my partner I sew our route onto maps, frame them, and give them to him as gifts for his next birthday or valentines day. They look really good hanging on the wall, are a lovely reminder of where we’ve been, and they’re very a very wallet friendly present! I love the idea of turning it into an iPad case – so cute and practical 🙂 The world map fabric is gorgeous – i’m defiantly going to be tracking some of that down!
    Jennie x

    Like

Leave a comment