Geometric Baby Quilt

geometric baby quilt tutorial

When I was pregnant, I decided I’d make a quilt for my new Little Button. As I’d never attempted a quilt on this scale before I took to the Internet for help. I knew I wanted to do something modern and gender-neutral and this tutorial was exactly what I had in mind.

I opted for greys and yellows with a black and white polka dot backing because babies love high-contrast fabrics.

For this project you will need:

  • 1/2 metre of 6 different fabrics for the triangles
  • 1 ½ metres of backing fabric
  • 1 ½ metres of wadding
  • 1 ½ metres of bias binding

newborn quilt tutorial

1. Begin by cutting out your triangle pieces using this template. For each of your six fabrics, cut 19 triangles (allowing for a ¼ inch seam). Cut one of the triangles for each fabric in half vertically to fit on the ends of each row.

IMG_2283-001

2. Sew your triangles together using this template (scroll down to see pattern) and press all the seams out.

newborn baby quilt diy newborn quilt DIY

3. Sew your long strips together from top to bottom and press the seams out again. You want to try to line up your triangles but if your quilt turns out anything like mine it might not quite happen that way!

IMG_2287-001

4. Cut your backing fabric and wadding slightly bigger than your front panel and sandwich your backing fabric, wadding and front panel together. Pin in place.

geometric quilt DIY5. Now it’s time to quilt. This takes a while to do and you need to be careful that the layers stay intact. Sew just slightly off from the triangle seam and quilt each triangle.

geometric newborn quilt diy geometric newborn quilt diy

6. Trim any excess backing fabric and wadding off using scissors. Add the binding. Sew onto the front, making sure you mitre the corners. I found this tutorial clear for learning how to seamlessly join up your binding. Once you’ve done that, slip stitch the binding onto the back of the quilt and you’re done.

newborn quilt tutorial newborn quilt tutorial
newborn quilt tutorial

I found making this quilt stretched my sewing skills and it isn’t a beginners pattern despite what the original tutorial says. Hopefully it will be something my new Little Button will have for a long time and he won’t care about the slight wonky homemadeness of it!
newborn quilt newborn quilt

~ Laura xx ~

11 thoughts on “Geometric Baby Quilt

  1. Stunning fabric choices right up my street. I love greys and yellows together. Your little one looks happy for it too. Pattern is great I will have to try this with my new sewing machine my momma bought me. I made my daughter one when she was born and I felt so proud of it after. My son needs one now. lol Thanks for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

    Like

Leave a comment