Air Dry Clay Toy Biscuits

clay biscuits 13

Amelie loves popping foods into her toy cooker and ‘baking’ them, so I thought I’d make her some biscuits from air dry clay. These cute little yummies turned out really well (apart from the Oreo… that one was a bit dodgy) and I think they were my favourite thing I’ve made for her so far! Except that I wanted to eat biscuits the entire time I was making them. Read on to learn how to make your own.

You will need:
Air dry clay (I use DAS)
Rolling pin
Acrylic paint
Toothpick
Knife
Cookie cutter
Fine sandpaper
Superglue
Varnish (I use Triple Thick)

1) Pick some images of your favourite biscuits to copy. Roll out the clay to the thickness of each biscuit. I prefer to do this on a taped down piece of cling film – this makes it easy to remove the clay from the board without having to peel/bend it. For the round biscuits use a cookie cutter or small jar lid to cut your shapes. For sandwich biscuits, make the two outer pieces but hold on the filling for now. Square biscuits can be cut easily with a knife. The edges don’t need to be too smooth at this stage.

clay biscuits 1

2) For text, patterns and holes, take a toothpick and carefully score into your biscuit.

clay biscuits 2

3) leave the clay to dry, then sandpaper the biscuits to create a smooth finish. You can also go over any markings with a toothpick again to create a smoother finish.

clay biscuits 3

4) fun bit! To make the filling for your biscuits, take balls of fresh clay, squash a little and then press between the two dry pieces. This works especially well on the jammy dodger as it puffs out a bit in the hole. Just like in real life… yuuuuum. Once its squashed to the right size, take it out and, once dry, glue back in place.

clay biscuits 15 clay biscuits 16

5) paint your biscuits, leave to dry and then apply a coat of varnish to the ones that need shine.

clay biscuits 4 clay biscuits 5

6) Go and buy/eat a packet of jammy dodgers. Optional. I had a serious craving by this stage.

clay biscuits 8 clay biscuits 10 clay biscuits 9clay biscuits 11 clay biscuits 6

Tia x

p.s. If you like this clay post why not try the following – click on the image to take you to the tutorial.

mobile 5  clay ring 1

8 thoughts on “Air Dry Clay Toy Biscuits

  1. These are amazing! Definitely going to make these my next project, I just need to remember where I’ve put my DAS modelling clay. They look great, better than the real thing 😉

    Like

  2. Wonderful website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get responses from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment